Other National Events
MG’s Represented at the Opening of the LeMay America’s Car Museum
Using cars from the LeMay family’s 3,500 vehicle collection, and cars from other private collections and owners, the 165,000 square feet LeMay America’s Car Museum opened to the public on Saturday, June 2nd.
Inside the museum, there were about 500 cars, including temporary displays from Ferrari America, and a “British Invasion” section. This latter collection included the Magnette ZA of Steve Hanegan, on loan to the museum for one year.
Outside there was a display of about 500 cars on the permanent 3.5 acre car show field. These included three MG’s that had made the trip from Surrey, BC, to Tacoma:
1956 Old English White MGA roadster, driven by Peter Tilbury
1958 Orient Red/White MGA coupe, driven by Anne Tilbury
1994 Woodcote Green MG RV8, driven by Simon Austin
These MG’s attracted a great deal of attention and many admiring remarks from visitors. The museum is the culmination of five years of work to build and fill the museum, thanks to the contributions of the City of Tacoma, local businesses and $15million from Mrs Nancy LeMay. This museum is now a major attraction for classic car enthusiasts, and joins other museums in the area – The Museum of Glass, Chihuly Bridge of Glass, Children’s Museum of Tacoma, Shanaman Sports Museum of Tacoma, Tacoma Union Station and Washington State History Museum, to name a few.
For those interested in the history of the automobile in America, this is now a must-see destination. More information can be found on the LeMay America's Car Museum website.